Nigeria ZIP Code is the same as Postcode or postal code for Nigeria. The Nigerian Postal Code is a numeric code consisting of a six-digit number.

Country Nigeria
Postal Code 100001 – 982112 (Lagos – Benue)
Capital Abuja
Largest city Lagos
ISO 3166 Code NG
Calling Code +234
Internet TLD .ng
Currency Naira (₦) (NGN)
Time Zone UTC+01:00 (WAT)

The Nigerian Postal Service (NIPOST), divides the country into 9 regions, which are the first digits of the code. The 2nd and 3rd digits, combined with the first, are the shipping districts for outbound sorting. And the delivery location is represented by the last three digits.

All main post offices in 36 States plus the Federal Capital Territory have the suffix number or code 001. For example Garki HO in Abuja has the postal code 900001. The lowest Postal code for Nigeria is 100001, Ikeja, Lagos Metropolitan in Lagos State and the highest is 982112, Mbara, Vandeikya in Benue State.

Nigeria ZIP Codes List by State

ISO Code State Postcode LGA Facility
NG-AB Abia 440001 Isiala Ngwa South GPO
NG-AD Adamawa 640001 Yola North GPO
NG-AK Akwa Ibom 520001 Uyo GPO
NG-AN Anambra 420001 Awka South Awka
NG-BA Bauchi 740001 Bauchi Wunti
NG-BY Bayelsa 561001 Brass Brass
NG-BE Benue 970001 Makurdi Makurdi
NG-BO Borno 600001 Maiduguri GPO
NG-CR Cross River 540001 Calabar Municipal Calabar
NG-DE Delta 320001 Oshimili south Asaba
NG-EB Ebonyi 840001 Sokoto South GPO
NG-ED Edo 300001 Oredo GPO
NG-EK Ekiti 360001 Ado Ekiti Ado Ekiti
NG-EN Enugu 400001 Enugu North Asata
NG-GO Gombe 760001 Gombe Gombe
NG-IM Imo 460001 Owerri Municipal New Owerri
NG-JI Jigawa 720001 Dutse GPO
NG-KD Kaduna 800001 Kaduna North GPO
NG-KN Kano 700001 Nasarawa GPO
NG-KT Katsina 820001 Katsina Daura
NG-KE Kebbi 860001 Birnin Kebbi Haliru Abidu
NG-KO Kogi 260001 Lokoja GPO
NG-KW Kwara 240001 Ilorin South GPO
NG-LA Lagos 100001 Ikeja GPO
NG-NA Nasarawa 962001 Nasarawa Nasarawa
NG-NI Niger 920001 Bosso GPO
NG-OG Ogun 110001 Abeokuta South GPO
NG-ON Ondo 340001 Akure North GPO
NG-OS Osun 230001 Osogbo Osogbo
NG-OY Oyo 200001 Ibadan South West GPO
NG-PL Plateau 930001 Jos North GPO
NG-RI Rivers 500001 Port Harcourt GPO
NG-SO Sokoto 840001 Sokoto South GPO
NG-TA Taraba 660001 Jalingo Jalingo
NG-YO Yobe 620001 Damaturu GPO
NG-ZA Zamfara 880001 Gusau Gusau
NG-FC FCT 900001 Abuja Municipal Garki

Postal Address

Postal address for main post office of Nigeria is the Nigerian Postal Service Nipost Corporate Headquarters Abubakar Musa Argungu House Plot 1279 Muhammadu Buhari Way PMB 12537, Garki 900001 Abuja, Nigeria.

Largest city in Nigeria

ZIP code or Postal code searches occur in large cities like Lagos, Kano, Ibadan, Kaduna, Port Harcourt, Benin City, Maiduguri and Abuja.

Lagos City
Lagos Postcode starts with the lowest code that is 100001 to 102361. Lagos is the largest city in Nigeria and was the capital of Nigeria until 1991.
Kano City
Kano City ZIP Code is 700xxx. Kano is a city located in Kano State Nigeria and is the capital city of Kano State. It is the second largest city in Nigeria after the city of Lagos.
Ibadan Postal code is 200xxx. The city of Ibadan is the capital city of Oyo State, in Nigeria. It is the third largest city by population in Nigeria after Lagos and Kano.
Kaduna City
Kaduna Postal code is 800xxx. Kaduna City is the capital city of Kaduna State, North West Geoploitical Zone of NIgeria. the city is the former political capital of Northern Nigeria.
Port Harcourt
Port Harcourt Postcode is 500001 to 500272. Port Harcourt is the capital and largest city in Rivers State, Nigeria. In Nigeria, Port Harcourt is the fifth largest city in Nigeria after Lagos, Kano, Ibadan and Kaduna. The area that became Port Harcourt was previously agricultural land of the Rebisi, an ethnic group of the Ikwerre region that was in 1912.
Benin City
Benin City Postal code is 300xxx. Benin City is the capital and largest city in the Edo State, Geopolitical Zone of Nigeria. This city or town is the fourth largest city in Nigeria after Lagos, Kano and Ibadan.
Postcode for Maiduguri is 600xxx. Maiduguri is the capital and largest city in the Maiduguri Local Government Area, in Borno State, North East Geopolitical Zone of Nigeria.
Postal code for Abuja is 900001 as Headquarters. Abuja is the capital and eighth most populous city in Nigeria. The city is located in the center of the country within the Federal Capital Territory (FCT). NIPOST main post office address is located in this city.


Frequently Asked Questions

What is Postal Code?

A Postal code (used locally in many English-speaking countries) is a series of letters or numbers or both, sometimes including spaces or punctuation, included in a postal address for mail sorting purposes.

What is ZIP Code?

ZIP Code is a postal code used by the postal code service in America, namely the United States Postal Service (USPS).

What is ZIP Code for Nigeria?

Nigeria does not use ZIP Code but its name is Postcode. ZIP code are used in the United States.

What is Nigeria Postcode or Postal Code?

Nigeria Postcode is a numeric code consisting of a Six digit number. The lowest Postal code in Nigeria is 100001, Ikeja in Lagos and the highest is 982112, Mbara, Vandeikya in Benue State.


Is +234 Nigeria Postal code?

+234 is not a Nigerian postal code but +234 is an international dialing code for a Nigerian phone number.

Is 23401 The ZIP code for Nigeria?

23401 is not a valid ZIP code for Nigeria. If you are still curious, please check the official Nigeria Postal code search site.

Leave a Reply 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.